The Great Gatsby

It was with great scepticism that I accepted this book from my friend. I have a dubious reputation for being intolerant
towards Classics. Of course that would mean that to date I have not read any of the major classics of English Literature.
One fine evening of grumbling and being cranky made my friend suggest this book and in consequence, the movie adaptation of
the same name. It gave “hope”,they said. So,badly in need of some good news, I took the book out and started reading.

The story,being set in the post WW1 period gave a fairly good fodder for my visualisation of the scenes described in it.
With detailed descriptions about the vehicles and castles, I found it easier to imagine what the actual scene would look
like,if it had really taken place.

Jay Gatsby is mysterious enough and Daisy seems just the Lady who would marry for Honour. Tom Buchanan is stereotypical.
Jordan Baker and Nick (the Narrator) seemed a little fresh for me.

A story of loss of love and attempting to get the lost love back seemed far-fetched to me. The deaths towards the end of the
book were hurried up,or so I felt. However, I enjoyed the beautiful subtlety that Mr.Fitzgerald had strewn all through the
book. Not a big fan of explicit references, I loved the polished links and descriptions of a lot of complex emotions and
scene backdrops.

A few of my favourite quotes from the book would include

“Something was making him nibble at the edge of stale ideas as if his sturdy physical egotism no longer nourished his peremptory
heart”.

” He smiled understandingly-much more than understandingly. It was one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance
in it,that you may come across four or five times in life”.

” I wasn’t actually in love,but I felt a sort of tender curiosity”.

” The exhilarating ripple of her voice was a wild tonic in the rain”

“He stretched out his hand desperately as if to snatch only a wisp of air,to save a fragment of the spot that she had made
lovely for him.”

Not that the book gave me hope, but it did give me nice quotes in a form that I thoroughly enjoyed. It took me back to
those days of high school English classes and skit practises.

Oh, The Nostalgia!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

