Eternal Conundrum

Ah, the battle of the heart. The long standing face-off between one’s passion and profession.

These are times when we see people crying out loud advising others, known and unknown, to follow their heart, to chase their dreams, to pursue their passion. In my life too, I have come across a bunch of people who have looked down upon me for having chosen to pursue what one would call a conventional, remunerative and prestigious career line than to have opted for what I am known to do a little better. What is with this contemptous  look? Why is it mandatory for anybody and everybody to “chase” their passion. Why is it compulsory for people to make their passion as their profession, which would eventually feed and clothe them? Why are people who are clear on what they want, being looked down upon with condescension?

Passion is something that we do for the pleasure it gives us, isn’t it. We feel highly satisfied when we do it. We feel high! We feel as if we have achieved something. More importantly, we feel the love when we do it. Be it music, dance or even writing. All we look for, is the feeling of happiness and may be bliss when we are at it. That momentary exhilaration is priceless.

Profession is the line of activity that we chose, for various reasons. It might not give us the high that we get when we indulge in the aforementioned paragraph. It will not give us the bliss feeling nor do we get the sense of love when we are at it. But it pays us. It enables us to pay the bills and live a decent life without being indebted to anybody. That is the reality, let us face it.

What is wrong in having a clear demarcation between one’s passion and profession. Why is it such a sin to commit? Why is it not acceptable to people when they see an individual who is clear on the above? Why is it such a big deal? Why does it earn me the title of a sinner and worse, a two faced moron who does not know how to monetize what she does the best?

It is called “passion” for a reason. It means that much to be and I do it just for the pleasure that I derive from it. Money does not matter in such cases. Really, it doesn’t. To me, it is divine and pure. It is more like spirituality. It is something very personal, the bond that I share with it.

If having two faces makes me a traitor, so be it. If having two lines of interest makes me nothing short of a mistress, then so be it. It is one’s own choice and preferences. I need my profession for I love it. I need my passion for it is one of the reasons that helps me live. Forcing me to choose love or life isn’t going to reap anything beneficial or even tangible.

So just let it be. It is not wrong. It is not a sin. It is simply a way of my life.

2 thoughts on “Eternal Conundrum

Add yours

  1. If having two faces makes me a traitor, so be it. If having two lines of interest makes me nothing short of a mistress, then so be it. It is one’s own choice and preferences. I need my profession for I love it. I need my passion for it is one of the reasons that helps me live. Forcing me to choose love or life isn’t going to reap anything beneficial or even tangible. Superbly written – Even I have dual lives to cater to both my profession and passion. I guess most of us are forced to maintain a dual identity

    1. I would say that it is the harsh reality for most of us. We have many many other factors to consider, before this one. That was aimed at people who have time and again put me down, with contempt, for having maintained duality.
      Thanks for reading Ji 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

