Blue ticks and Screenshots

Of course you know what I am talking about!

download

This is probably a major reason for the new-gen relationships going haywire. Forget Infidelity, forget lack of respect, forget everything else. The “last seen..” and the double blue ticks that adorn our WhatsApp conversation windows and those screenshots completely wreck our lives these days.

I am guilty of using each of those at some point or the other in my life so far. No, really. I remember having fought with people because they apparently ‘saw’ my message and did not care to reply. (Ironically I was blind to not see their ‘message’). I have been stupid enough to overthink and ruin my peace of mind over the ‘last seen at’ nonsense. Screenshots, ha, that is a different story altogether. Although personally I use this feature to remember some of the nicest things that people have told me, I have also used it to convey the messages to others when I am too lazy to type everything out.

After having enough troubles from those features, now I have turned everything off. No Last seen blah blah. Oh yeah! WhatsApp was kind enough to warn me that I will not be able to see other’s such timelog if I turned mine off, and well, I said I don’t care about that.

Blue ticks are turned off too, saving a lot of heartburn. The friggin thing is such a blessing that people will at least be at peace giving me that benefit of doubt.

Using all these tools to keep a tab on people whom we love and trust is pathetic. Why don’t we understand that if they want you to know something, they will. What is the necessity for us to poke people and drive them crazy. This reminds me of that hilarious scene in the movie ‘Pyaar ka punchnama’ ( which can be watched right here ). I have to admit that this guy has got it 70% right from his side.

Technology has made us slaves, how much ever ridiculous and funny it might sound. It is even more ironical to think that we fought for independence 60 years back and well, we are imprisoned now.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

