My World Revolves Around You!

*HE WROTE TO ME FIRST, WHICH CAN BE READ RIGHT HERE!!*

Dear Sun,

It is really nice to see you write to me, after all these years. It stills feels the same, you know? In spite of we successfully making it to almost five billion years. People say we have a few more billions to clock.

Life has been the same for me since the day I set my eyes upon you. You, charming and attractive as always, with your gold toned complexion and fiery demeanor. Was it love at first sight? May be, I would never know. I have changed a lot since then. From a bulky landmass that I once was, I have worked hard to create and maintain the curves over which your rays feast on every morning. Oh the pleasure!

sun-and-earth
When the rays caress me, I glow

Letting seven billion children walk on me, regardless of how rude they are, defines my very nature. You could be rude in letting me know the fact that these kids take me for granted. I know that they do. I also know that they do it because I let them do that. But you needn’t be worried, for I have my own defense mechanism when things get over board. Just like how many, many mothers have. It is an essential weapon in our armour, which shall be used only when things go way out of hand. But for such rare instances, I am patient and tolerant of everything that comes my way. They are all my kids after all, and where else would they go? In fact, it might be this nature of mine that makes me valuable to them.

ஒறுத்தாரை யொன்றாக வையாரே வைப்பர்
பொறுத்தாரைப் பொன்போற் பொதிந்து.- 155 (Thirukkural)

In case you are wondering, my patience makes me valuable in the eyes of my children.

I have looked up to you always, for those priceless pearls of wisdom. Your appearance every morning reminds me of the duties that I am bound to do for the rest of my life, selflessly. Your absence by dusk, handing me over to the watchful eyes of the moon, who would take his duties for granted by choosing to come or bunk for the night, taught me to let go when the time is right. Maturity is what that taught me. Your fiery nature, which does not let anybody too close to you, showed me how important it is to guard myself from intimidators. Your occasional black spots reminded me of my own imperfections and how I must not get carried away by my own glory.

Having been a teacher and a mentor to me all these years, is it laudable on your part that you be misguided by the random words of two strangers? They could be my kids, but between us, they are still strangers. After all that we have been through together, is it possible at all for me to move away from you? Do you realize that the moment the distance between us increases, all the life in me would perish and I would become barren again, losing all my sheen and colour? Need I say more?

Afternoons are my favorite too. I love the way you are at your majestic best.  Giving space to each other has been our forte. I know you are at your best when you are left on your own. I trust you that you would come to me every morning. So I let you be. I derive my pleasure in watching you laze around, with all the glow. Did you know that even I look my best when you are at your best? Is this love? Or is it lust that I love it when you are on top. Do we really have to name this? I dare not.

Also, I love the way people cover up when you shine. It might be my way of saying that you are mine and nobody dare to welcome you to them with open arms. This, in a way makes me feel secure and content. I would definitely not want to see somebody else having the same pleasure as I do when your lovely rays caress me.

Your indignance makes me smile. You have deigned to accept that you shine for me and that my children are just accidental beneficiaries. Why would that affect you then? People behave in strange ways. Just like how Venus and I are not the same and just the way Jupiter and Mars cannot be compared, it does not make sense to compare east with the land in the west. It has taken me years to chisel my body this way and I know you love it.

People choosing to think about and highlight your faults is not your mistake. That is just how they are. You are much beyond all the pettiness that is spread over me. Think beyond all these trivialities and you will come to understand that life is much more. It is not about people. They come and go. In fact, they vanish in an instant, before you could even think of blinking once. That is their significance among us. Should we let these mortals come between us?

You seem to know the art of wooing my kids. A sly collaboration with the magnificent clouds is all it takes to make them swoon over you. Bam! There they come with their cameras and what-nots to capture the beauty that you are.  You seem to form the crux of some of the most romanticized aspects of lives. People take out time from their mundane lives to sit and watch you rise up above them or bid them a teary goodbye. Both these actions from you are accepted and appreciated.  You form an inevitable part of many deep conversations that have gone to make or break meaningful relationships. So you know your significance.

As one of your eight sweethearts, I have never wanted anything more than what I have right now from you. What we have right now is perfect for me. I do not seek matrimony nor do I seek monogamy. I understand your strengths as much as you do of mine. I am content with you being my loyal customer, for many more years to come. I know the deal of it all, about how mortal I am and how much immortal you are when compared to me. I do not want any bit of your immortality, and if given a chance, I would gladly bestow you will all that I have and sink into oblivion without a trace of remorse.

majestic-sun

I do not need a proclamation from you either. I do not fancy what people may or may not think of us. I like the way you love me. It reeks of lust, but isn’t that an inevitable part of continuing life? I do not know about your escapades with Venus or Mars or Jupiter. I know they are all beautiful in their own pretty ways, but I am also sure that I have my own place in your life and nobody can replace the visual treat that I offer to you.

Love is not about the fancy declarations or the metal confinements that come in the forms of rings or chains. It is about completing the other part and feeling comfortable in the presence of another totally different person. You might see that we are so different that people might find it difficult to accept us. But, isn’t that the beauty of it all?

You complete me like nobody does. You break me apart unlike anybody else. It is all in the game which we play.

If you are happy being my mistress for life, I shall be equally happy to be your customer, a loyal one at that.

Always with a “world” of Love

Earth

*This post is a part of the Love Theme contest organised by the Chennai Bloggers Club in association with Woodooz-Lampshades and Indian Superheroes *

3 thoughts on “My World Revolves Around You!

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

